Dr. Fountain in Ophthalmology News


aao podcast
Podcast: From the Cutter’s Mouth Podcast
“One Year Later: Race in America and Improving Diversity in Ophthalmology”

Listen to this podcast in which Drs. Tamara Fountain, Leon Herndon, and Basil Williams rejoin one year after the original episode discussing progress in the state of diversity in ophthalmology and next steps to improve diversity in the future.

power list
Dr. Fountain Named to the 2021 Power List of the Top 100 Women in Ophthalmology

Click here to read about the 2021 Power List.

Click here to read some responses from Dr. Fountain from an interview about the list.

aao award
Dr. Fountain Serves as AAO’s 2021 President

Click here to watch her AAO president’s acceptance speech.

Click here to read the press release about Dr. Fountain beginning her term as AAO president.

Click here to watch a short video of Dr. Fountain discussing Learning by Listening.

aao podcast
Podcast: Leadership and Mentoring

Listen to this short podcast in which Dr. Fountain and two other AAO leaders discuss their insights.

Lessons in Leadership

In this interview, Dr. Fountain reflects on how to get started and success in organizational volunteer leadership roles.


millennial eye award
Outstanding Female Leader in Ophthalmology Awardee

Each issue of MillennialEYE features an Outstanding Female Leader in Ophthalmology Award. The goal of this award is to acknowledge women who have fulfilled specific criteria of advancement in ophthalmology, while displaying leadership and the promotion of others. Dr. Fountain was given this honor for the November 2020 issue. Click here to read the article.

kennedy award
ASOPRS Robert H. Kennedy Presidential Award

Named in memory of ASOPRS 2007 President, Robert H. Kennedy, MD, PhD, this award is presented to the Society’s Immediate Past President in recognition of their devotion, leadership, and ongoing service to the Society. Dr. Fountain was the 2019 recipient of this award.

aao award
Life Achievement Award

Dr. Fountain was given this honor in 2018, the highest volunteer membership award bestowed by the AAO.